Chief Minister to honour medal winners of Asian Games & CWG with State Award & cash prizes on 11th October : Rana Sodhi

By Admin

23 male & female players  to be honoured with prize money of Rs. 15.55 crore

Punjab players bagged 2 Gold, 3 Silver & 3 Bronze medals in CWG

Asiad saw Punjab players winning 3 Gold, 2 Silver & 2 Bronze medals

Chandigarh, October 10:

“The Punjab Government would honour the players from State bagging medals in the Common Wealth Games held at Gold Coast and Asian Games held at Jakarta in Indonesia this year on 11th October in Chandigarh with State Award as well as the cash prizes. The Chief Minister, Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh would honour 23 medal winning male and female players with the prize money amounting to Rs. 15.55 crore.” This was disclosed here today in a press communique by the Sports Minister, Punjab, Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi. The players from Punjab bagged 2 Gold, 3 Silver and 3 Bronze medals in the CWG and 3 Gold, 2 Silver and 2 Bronze medals in Asian Games.

Rana Sodhi also said that the Punjab Cabinet has recently approved a new Sports policy in order to restore the glory of Punjab in the sporting arena as well as inculcating sports culture amongst the youth of the State. He further said that as per the new sports policy, the  players from Punjab winning medals in the CWG and the Asian Games would now get the threefold increased prize money. Divulging more, the players bagging Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in CWG would get Rs. 75 lakh, Rs.  50 lakh and Rs. 40 lakh respectively whereas those winning the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in Asian Games would get Rs. 1 crore, Rs. 75 lakh and Rs. 50 lakh respectively. The minister further said that target envisaged is 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games in which the positive results of the new sports policy would be reflected.

Giving details of the players to be honoured at the felicitation function, Rana Sodhi said that the honours list of CWG includes Shooter Heena Sidhu (1 Gold and 1 Silver in CWG and 1 Bronze in Asiad), Gold medal winning Badminton player Pranav Chopra, Silver winner Shooter Anjum Moudgill, Silver winning Weightlifter Pardeep Singh, Bronze medal winners Athlete Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Weightlifter Vikas Thakur. The honours board of Asian Games players include Gold medal winning athletes Tejinder Pal Singh Toor and Arpinder Singh and Gold winning Rowers Swaran Singh Virk and Sukhmeet Singh, Silver medal winners Randeep Kaur Khaira in Kabaddi, Gurjeet Kaur and Reena Khokhar in Hockey whereas the Bronze medal winners include Bhagwan Singh in Rowing and 9 players of the Men’s field hockey team namely Manpreet Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Varun Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Simranjit Singh, Krishan Pathak and Dilpreet Singh.

Leave a Reply