#Congress announces 8 more candidates, replaces 2 for Punjab assembly polls

By Admin

Congress Candidates List


New Delhi/Chandigarh, January 13

The Congress on Friday released its fourth list of 10 candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections, replacing two of its earlier nominees with more winnable candidates.


With this, the party has announced a total of 108 candidates for election to the 117-member state Assembly. The remaining ticket would also be announced at the earliest, said Punjab Congress president Captain Amarinder Singh, reiterating the party’s commitment to choosing winnable candidates over other considerations and sticking to the one-family-one-ticket rule.


Ex Congress MLA Rajkumar Gupta has replaced Tejinder Bittu in Jalandhar North, while from Bhadaur (SC) constituency, Nirmal Singh Nimma has been replaced with Joginder Singh Panjgrain, who had contested 2012 assembly polls on Congress ticket from Jaitu (SC).


Renowned Punjabi Singer Satwinder Kaur Bitti is the woman candidate on the list and has been fielded from Sahnewal, while Jalandhar West assembly seat ticket has gone to sitting Congress Municipal Councillor Sushil Kumar Rinku.

From Sujanpur, Congress has fielded Amit Singh Manto, and former Mayor Sunil Dutti has been given the ticket from Amritsar North.

Other candidates selected to battle the polls are Hardev Singh Laddi (Shahkot), Luv Kumar Goldy Garshankar.  Barinder Dhillon (Ropar) and Geja Ram (Jagraon-SC).


Leave a Reply